Francesco Veronese started his business in the city in 1888, on the occasion of the 800th anniversary of the founding of the University of Bologna, initially with a single stall under the Portico della Morte. With the collaboration of his daughter Eva, the business became permanent: first in Via D'Azeglio, then in Via Ugo Bassi, in Via Indipendenza and, as of 1918, in the picturesque Via De’ Foscherari. Management changed hands in 1961, and the bookshop closed once and for all in 2012.
Sources:
https://www.storiaememoriadibologna.it/libreria-veronese-3650-luogo
Photo from the website Storia e Memoria di Bologna